Yashwantrao Chavan Maharashtra Open University


Yashwantrao Chavan Maharashtra Open University (YCMOU) was established in July 1989 by the Act XX-1989 of the Maharashtra State Legislature. This University is recognized by the ‘University Grants Commission (UGC) of India.’ ‘The Commonwealth of Learning (COL)’ Canada, conferred the prestigious ‘Award of Excellence for Institutional Achievement’ for the year 2002 to this university. YCMOU is the first Open University in India which is honored with this prestigious award. It is the fifth Open University in the country. A recent amendment in the act allows this university to establish study centers, even outside the state of Maharashtra.

The university provides relaxed entry procedures. However, it does maintain its standards for examinations. The university may admit a student even when he is studying in another university / Board or is continuing his professional career. It also does not ask for documents like Transfer Certificates at the time of admission. At the same time the university takes all precautions (Just as the other Universities do) to ensure that the standards and quality of education and exams, are preserved.

The head office of the University is located at Nashik, India.

Courses Offered & Eligibility

Diploma in Cyber Security

  • Eligibility:12th Pass / BCS
  • Duration:1 Year

B.Sc. (Business Information System) & Bachelor of Computer Application (BCA)

  • Eligibility:12th / HSC / 3 Year Diploma & BTE or equivalent
  • Duration:Three Years

Diploma in Electronics Equipments & Maintenance

  • Eligibility:10th or Preparatory
  • Duration:1 Year

Diploma in Automobile Technique

  • Eligibility:10th
  • Duration:1 Year

Diploma in Electronics & Telecom

  • Eligibility : 10th & 12th
  • Duration: 4 years

B.Sc in Industrial Science

  • Eligibility : 12th Standard or MCVC or HSC vocational or equivalent
  • Duration: 3 years

Diploma in Industrial Science

  • Eligibility: 10th Pass
  • Duration: 1 year